#FuturisticFriday Giveaway: With Love From The Inside by Angela Pisel

Futuristic Friday Giveaway

Futuristic Friday Giveaway: With Love from the Inside by Angela Pisel. Continue reading

Advertisements

Vanilla Beaned by Jenn McKinlay

vanilla beaned

Photo Credit: Berkley

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Vanilla Beaned

Summary: In the eighth in the New York Times bestselling series by the author of Dark Chocolate Demise, the Fairy Tale Cupcake crew goes double or nothing in Vegas…
 
Melanie Cooper and Angie DeLaura are taking a gamble by opening their first franchise of the Fairy Tale Cupcakes Bakery, so where better to hit the jackpot than in Vegas? Business manager Tate Harper has lined up a meeting with Holly Hartzmark, a former showgirl who’s looking to bring Mel and Angie’s sweet treats to Sin City, but Mel isn’t so sure she’s ready to hand her recipes over to a complete stranger—especially one as brash as Holly.
Continue reading

Try Not To Breathe by Holly Seddon

try not to breathe

Photo Credit: Goodreads

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Try Not To Breathe

Summary from Goodreads:

For fans of Lianne Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Tana French, an arresting debut novel of psychological suspense: a young journalist struggles to keep the demons of her alcoholism at bay as she finds her purpose again in tackling the mystery of a shocking headline-making crime, still unsolved after fifteen years.

Amy Stevenson was the biggest news story of 1995. Only fifteen years old, Amy disappeared walking home from school one day and was found in a coma three days later. Her attacker was never identified and her angelic face was plastered across every paper and nightly news segment.

Fifteen years later, Amy lies in the hospital, surrounded by 90’s Britpop posters, forgotten by the world until reporter Alex Dale stumbles across her while researching a routine story on vegetative patients.

Remembering Amy’s story like it was yesterday, she feels compelled to solve the long-cold case.

The only problem is, Alex is just as lost as Amy—her alcoholism has cost her everything including her marriage and her professional reputation.

In the hopes that finding Amy’s attacker will be her own salvation as well, Alex embarks on a dangerous investigation, suspecting someone close to Amy.

Told in the present by an increasingly fragile Alex and in dream-like flashbacks by Amy as she floats in a fog of memories, dreams, and music from 1995, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer to a breathtaking conclusion.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts: Continue reading

The Charm Bracelet by Viola Shipman

the charm bracelet 1

Photo Credit: St. Martin’s Press

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Charm Bracelet

Summary from Goodreads:

Lose yourself to the magic of The Charm Bracelet.

Through an heirloom charm bracelet, three women will rediscover the importance of family and a passion for living as each charm changes their lives.

On her birthday each year, Lolly’s mother gave her a charm, along with the advice that there is nothing more important than keeping family memories alive, and so Lolly’s charm bracelet would be a constant reminder of that love.

Now seventy and starting to forget things, Lolly knows time is running out to reconnect with a daughter and granddaughter whose lives have become too busy for Lolly or her family stories.

But when Arden, Lolly’s daughter, receives an unexpected phone call about her mother, she and granddaughter Lauren rush home. Over the course of their visit, Lolly reveals the story behind each charm on her bracelet, and one by one the family stories help Lolly, Arden, and Lauren reconnect in a way that brings each woman closer to finding joy, love, and faith.

A compelling story of three women and a beautiful reminder of the preciousness of family, The Charm Bracelet is a keepsake you’ll cherish long after the final page.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this family story- it was sweet (maybe a bit sappy at times) but it’s my kind of book. The stories of the family. The little secrets. The traditions.

What I loved:

-The Cover (SO pretty!)

-The stories behind the charms. I did not grow up in a “sentimental” family. I try to keep things like this or purchase things to remind me of places, but my mom is not of that spirit. It was nice to see how the charms brought the family together.

 

As I was reading this, I kept thinking of it as a cross between The Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood and Hope Floats. In fact, Lolly had me thinking of the mom from Hope Floats each time I would read a section of hers.

All in all, it was a lovely story!

Recommended for fans of women’s fiction or for people wanting to read a “light” story.

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

traveling with t sign off picture

Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica

don't you cry by mary kubica

Photo Credit: Mira May 17th, 2016

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Don’t You Cry

Quinn Collins wakes up one morning after being out for too long one night. She’s not alone in her bed. And she’s disturbed about the sound of an alarm clock. After her friend leaves, she goes walking through the apartment to see why Esther is letting the alarm beep at a too early to get up hour.

It’s soon apparent that Quinn is the only person in the apartment. So, where is Esther?

Later that day, in a town an hour or so away- a boy named Alex is working at a diner. In walks this woman who he has never seen before- and his life changes. She’s beautiful- and he could watch her for hours. But, she’s content to sit there, drink her coffee and look outside the window. Continue reading