Try Not To Breathe by Holly Seddon

try not to breathe

Photo Credit: Goodreads

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Try Not To Breathe

Summary from Goodreads:

For fans of Lianne Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Tana French, an arresting debut novel of psychological suspense: a young journalist struggles to keep the demons of her alcoholism at bay as she finds her purpose again in tackling the mystery of a shocking headline-making crime, still unsolved after fifteen years.

Amy Stevenson was the biggest news story of 1995. Only fifteen years old, Amy disappeared walking home from school one day and was found in a coma three days later. Her attacker was never identified and her angelic face was plastered across every paper and nightly news segment.

Fifteen years later, Amy lies in the hospital, surrounded by 90’s Britpop posters, forgotten by the world until reporter Alex Dale stumbles across her while researching a routine story on vegetative patients.

Remembering Amy’s story like it was yesterday, she feels compelled to solve the long-cold case.

The only problem is, Alex is just as lost as Amy—her alcoholism has cost her everything including her marriage and her professional reputation.

In the hopes that finding Amy’s attacker will be her own salvation as well, Alex embarks on a dangerous investigation, suspecting someone close to Amy.

Told in the present by an increasingly fragile Alex and in dream-like flashbacks by Amy as she floats in a fog of memories, dreams, and music from 1995, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer to a breathtaking conclusion.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

I requested this one around the same time I requested The Widow. Between the 2 UK thrillers, I enjoyed this one more!

 

What I liked:

The cover (but I bet you knew that, right?)

The story line. It raises some interesting questions about quality of life, etc.

 

What I didn’t care for:

The names Alex and Amy- it took a bit of time for me to get used to the swap as we moved back and forth from each person’s story. I think there was a greater point being made- that both ladies, while in different circumstances, had similarities in life. But still.

What is up with these UK ladies who drink excessively? First, Girl on the Train and now Try Not To Breathe? (Ok I realize that is just 2 books- hardly a pattern, BUT STILL.)

 

Overall thoughts: I found this book to have the “twist” that I was looking for!

 

All in all- def worth a read!

 

*This book was requested from Netgalley. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone!*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

traveling with t sign off picture

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Try Not To Breathe by Holly Seddon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s