Book Talk with R & T presents a day in the life of The Bookshop on the Corner!

bookshop-on-corner-1

This week has been #BookTalkWithRandT all week long at both mine and Rhiannon’s blogs. We’re very choosy about the books we pick to spotlight because we like to have ALL THE FEELS about the books (and we love to have this text message convos back and forth about where we are in book, etc.)

Rhiannon suggested this book and from the cover, I could just tell that this would be a great book. Then reading the description sealed the deal. I was sold.

I did a little photo documenting along the way as I read the book- and I might have made some notes🙂 So, get ready to see the photos! Continue reading

Literary Friday, ya’ll…

literary friday

Today I’m rocking a My Little Pony band-aid because I sliced my finger and it hurts like all get out. I’d love to say I have My Little Pony band-aids because my niece loves them- but that would be a lie. I’m convinced that cuts heal faster when you have pretty or funny band-aids😉😉

1. Deep South Magazine and their #LiteraryFriday: News about Truman Capote AND the Fall/Winter Reads list will be revealed next Friday! Hurray!!!!!

 

2. #BookTalkWithRandT has been going strong this week with a giveaway of The Bookshop on the Corner! Check out my review of The Bookshop on the Corner and then check out Rhiannon at Ivory Owl Reviews review (or vice versa!)

 

3. Get ready to pin your posts with The Pretty Pintastic Party over at Tanya at Mom’s Small Victories! Continue reading

Book Talk With R & T: The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan

the-book-shop-on-the-corner

Photo Credit: William Morrow, 9/20

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Bookshop on the Corner

Summary: Nina Redmond is a literary matchmaker. Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion… and also her job. Or at least it was. Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city. But now the job she loved is no more.

Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys a van and transforms it into a bookmobile—a mobile bookshop that she drives from neighborhood to neighborhood, changing one life after another with the power of storytelling.

From helping her grumpy landlord deliver a lamb, to sharing picnics with a charming train conductor who serenades her with poetry, Nina discovers there’s plenty of adventure, magic, and soul in a place that’s beginning to feel like home… a place where she just might be able to write her own happy ending. Continue reading

Book Spotlight + Giveaway: The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeline

text-here

Today, I have a giveaway + book spotlight of one of the most gorgeous covers I’ve seen in a few weeks😉

Want to know more about The Confectioner’s Tale? Follow me:

 

the-confectioners-tale

Summary from Goodreads:

What secrets are hiding in the heart of Paris?

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner’s daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words ‘Forgive me’. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

Take a moment to savour an evocative, bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades – perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Victoria Hislop.

*********************

Praise for The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeline:

“Delightful, delicious and so typically French sweet and salty: this debut is a must read for every reading gourmet and for any Paris-Lover. Tasteful, joyful, Parisian – je l’aime.”—Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

“In her fast-paced, deliciously addictive debut novel, Laura Madeleine  throws the reader directly into 1910 Paris. You can feel the grittiness  of Montmartre, see the Left Bank streets, and smell the sugar in the  patisseries. Featuring romance, family secrets, and a well-executed dual  narrative, The Confectioner’s Tale is as transportive a book as you can read.” —Michelle Gable, New York Times bestselling author of A Paris Apartment and I’ll See You in Paris

“A great tale of mystery, artistry, history, and a little romance.
“—Library Journal

“[A] passionate and thrilling story. Fans of Alex Rosenberg and Naomi Wood will enjoy this glimpse inside the decadent and sensual world of 1910s Paris.”—Booklist

“Mouth-watering and mysterious… a compelling read.” —Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Postcard

“Madeleine skillfully weaves both narratives together, contrasting the sights, smells,and sounds of belle epoque Paris with modern London. Madeleine’s extensive research is evident, giving this passionate and thrilling story a solid base in reality. Fans of Alex Rosenberg and Naomi Wood will enjoy this glimpse inside the decadent and sensual world of 1910s Paris.” —Booklist
*******************************

 

Giveaway:

 

Win The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeline (US only). Check the Rafflecopter for more details.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

traveling with t sign off picture

#30Authors: Jenny Milchman talks about Lee Child’s Make Me

#30Authors

Hey ya’ll.. I’m back with another #30Authors post🙂🙂 Yay!!! So, when Allison at The Book Wheel asked me to host a second #30Authors post, I was all “Sure lady- no problem!” But when I found out WHO I’d be hosting- well, jazz hands went to a-fluttering because I love, love, love, LOVE me some Jenny Milchman. I first met Jenny back in 2013 at Lemuria Books (and I have to give credit to Allison for that because she was RAVING about Cover of Snow and it intrigued me enough to go visit!) So, I met Jenny. Warm, vivacious, and a complete advocate for books AND book bloggers! Then, later on Rhiannon at Ivory Owl Reviews and I were looking for a book for #BookTalkWithRandT and enter Jenny with Ruin Falls (seriously, if you are looking for suspense-y reads for October- just go add Ruin Falls to your list. Right now. I’ll wait.) When she came back to Lemuria in 2014, I went to see Jenny again- because while she entertains, she also INSPIRES! And in her latest book, As Night Falls, I (along with others) get a mention in the acknowledgements!

(In case you can’t tell- I’m a wee bit excited to have Jenny talking about a book for #30Authors!)

What is #30Authors? Well, here is the scoop on the event straight from Allison at The Book Wheel:

#30Authors is an event started by The Book Wheel that connects readers, bloggers, and authors. In it, 30 authors review their favorite recent reads on 30 blogs in 30 days. It takes place annually during the month of September and has been met with incredible support from and success in the literary community. It has also been turned into an anthology, which is currently available on Amazon and all author proceeds go to charity. Previous #30Authors contributors include Celeste Ng, Cynthia Bond, Brian Panowich, and M.O. Walsh. To see this year’s full line-up, visit www.thebookwheelblog.com/30authors or follow along on Twitter @30Authors. Continue reading

#BookTalkWithRandT: The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan + giveaway

book talk r t

Well folks it’s been a minute or more since Rhiannon at Ivory Owl Reviews and I had our last Book Talk. It’s not been lack of good books, but time as we both have been putting the H in HUSTLE for our blogs and jobs. But when Rhiannon mentioned this book to me and said she thought it would be perfect for Book Talk- well I immediately agreed.

And now here we are!

So, we’ll be giving a book away (Thanks to William Morrow!), reviewing Jenny’s latest, and we might have another surprise or 2 up our sleeves (you’ll just have to wait and see😉 Continue reading