#FuturisticFriday Review: The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel

Photo Credit: Crown Publishing

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Roanoke Girls

Summary: A gripping, provocative thriller about the twisted secrets families keep, perfect for fans of The Girls.

Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl.

But you won’t when you know the truth.

Lane Roanoke is fifteen when she comes to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin at the Roanoke family’s rural estate following the suicide of her mother. Over one long, hot summer, Lane experiences the benefits of being one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls.

But what she doesn’t know is being a Roanoke girl carries a terrible legacy: either the girls run, or they die. For there is darkness at the heart of Roanoke, and when Lane discovers its insidious pull, she must make her choice… Continue reading


Double Dog Dare by Gretchen Archer

Photo Credit: Henery Press

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Double Dog Dare

Summary: Hot diggety dog, the fur is flying in USA TODAY bestselling author Gretchen Archer’s latest. It’s not just good, it’s “Best in Show!” – Janet Evanovich

Problem #1: Bootsy Howard

Davis Way Cole lives a (relatively) quiet, (somewhat) simple, and (completely) witch-free life with her husband and twin daughters on the 29th floor of the Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. Until Bootsy Howard shows up demanding a million dollars.

Problem #2: Princess Smucker

What was marketing thinking when they booked the Southern Canine Association’s annual dog show at the Bellissimo? And what was Davis thinking when she agreed to let a dog stay with her? For a week? In her home? The home where she lives a (fairly) quiet, (reasonably) simple, and (totally) manicotti-free life?

Problem #3: Leverette Urleen, MD

The last thing Davis needs is an unsolicited house call from Pine Apple, Alabama’s latest excuse for a doctor. But since he’s there, considering she has a dead body on ice, she might as well have him determine the cause of death. Which he doesn’t. Nor is he any help finding the body when Davis loses it.

On top of all that, he won’t leave, further disrupting Davis’s (more or less) quiet, (to a certain degree) simple, and (utterly) seersucker-free life. A life that’s about to go to the dogs. Unless Davis can learn a few new tricks. Fast.

Guaranteed woofs, the best thing since the bone, take Double Dog Dare for a walk and you’re sure to unleash a treat.
Continue reading

Literary Friday ya’ll….

Hi folks…. It’s kinda rainy and dreary today and I’m really wanting to finish When Life Gives You Lululemons (61% in and really enjoying it!)

I’ll be going to the Garden Extravaganza tomorrow with my parents- we’re looking forward to hearing some of the panels and I want to look at the gazebos and dream happily away about how my yard would look with something so nice in it 🙂 Continue reading

#FuturisticFriday Review: The Good Widow by Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke

Photo Credit: Lake Union

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Good Widow

Summary: Bestselling authors Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke make their suspense debut in this twisty, emotional thriller.

Elementary school teacher Jacqueline “Jacks” Morales’s marriage was far from perfect, but even in its ups and downs it was predictable, familiar. Or at least she thought it was…until two police officers showed up at her door with devastating news. Her husband of eight years, the one who should have been on a business trip to Kansas, had suffered a fatal car accident in Hawaii. And he wasn’t alone.

For Jacks, laying her husband to rest was hard. But it was even harder to think that his final moments belonged to another woman—one who had left behind her own grieving and bewildered fiancé. Nick, just as blindsided by the affair, wants answers. So he suggests that he and Jacks search for the truth together, retracing the doomed lovers’ last days in paradise.

Now, following the twisting path of that fateful road, Jacks is learning that nothing is ever as it seems. Not her marriage. Not her husband. And most certainly not his death… Continue reading

The Girl on Legare Street by Karen White

Photo Credit: Berkley

Traveling With T purchased this book for her own personal reading.

The Girl on Legare Street

Summary: Acclaimed author Karen White returns with the sequel to the national bestseller The House on Tradd Street.

Melanie has grown accustomed to renovating old houses, but she never imagined she’d have to renovate her own life to include her estranged mother. Ginnette Prioleau Middleton left Charleston thirty-five years ago. She’s returned wanting to protect the daughter she’s never really known after receiving an ominous premonition.

Melanie never wanted to see her mother again, but with some prodding from her partner, Jack Trenholm, she agrees-and begins to rebuild their relationship. Together Melanie and Ginnette buy back their old home. With their combined psychic abilities they expect to unearth some ghosts. But what they find is a vengeful dark spirit whose strength has been growing for decades. It will take unearthing long buried secrets to beat this demon and save what’s left of Melanie’s family… Continue reading