#FuturisticFriday: Find Your New Reads {January-March 2020 Edition}

Hi ya’ll- it’s that time where Katie and I share a few books that we are excited about publishing between now and end of March. We’ve been working hard- checking Amazon, Edelweiss, Netgalley and making notes of books that have been pitched to us by our publishing contacts.

Let us know in the comments if you found any books to add to your TBR list from our lists 🙂 Continue reading

Futuristic Friday: Find Your New Reads {January-March 2019}

Hello ya’ll! Katie and I have a TON of books to get you through January-March of 2019 and we are SO excited for you to see the list.

If there are any we missed that you think we should know about- tell us in the comments- we basically want to say “READ ALLLLLLL THE BOOKS” and we have to make tough choices on which ones we choose to highlight.

Take a look through the list & add them to your Goodreads shelf! Continue reading

Futuristic Friday: Books You Will Love (July-September 2018)

Hello and welcome to the latest edition of #FuturisticFriday reads- where Katie and I share the reads we are most excited about! All these books are publishing between July and September 2018 so sit back and relax- we’ve got your reading choices covered from nonfiction to women’s fiction (and much in between!) Continue reading

#FuturisticFriday Picks: Find Your Next Read Jan-March 2018

 

Is your 2018 off to a great start? Well, it’s about to get started with a great BOOKISH bang as Katie and I share the books publishing between January-March 2018 that we are looking forward to the most.

Some of you may know that Katie and I have pretty different taste in books mainly, but we do over lap from time to time- keep your eyes peeled for the books that we both picked!

Get those gift cards you got for the holidays ready to use!  Continue reading

#FuturisticFriday review: Love The Wine You’re With by Kim Gruenenfelder

Photo Credit: St. Martin’s Press

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Love The Wine You’re With

Summary: Three best friends decide to open a wine bar in Echo Park LA, where they encounter the trials and tribulations of dating, love, and life in Kim Gruenenfelder’s Love the Wine You’re With.

“Gruenenfelder’s women are smart, likable and good to each other.” —Kirkus Reviews

Jessie is finally about to realize her life-long goal of owning her own house, the first step to a wonderful marriage, kids, and life with her boyfriend of three years, Kevin; except after they find the perfect place, Kevin suddenly gets cold feet.

Nat is having a passionate affair with her gorgeous British boss Marc—unfortunately, he’s married. Now what?

Holly is an actress who still waits tables to pay the bills, and who is coping with the recent loss of her father. A particularly bad audition, where she snaps and tells off a big director, leads her to wonder what to do when you stop loving what you do. (And also what to do about her hot neighbor. Because, you know, hot neighbor.)

After each girl finishes a particularly awful workday, the three friends meet at their favorite wine bar, which has been sold by its owner for a huge profit and will close that night. In a moment of tipsy brazenness, Jessie suggests that the three of them open their own wine bar in the gentrifying Echo Park area of Los Angeles. An unapologetically girly place for good wine and good friends—which leads to a challenge for each woman: how do you fix a life that’s not actually broken, but needs an upgrade? Continue reading

#FuturisticFriday review: A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell

a-simple-favor

Photo Credit: Harper

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

A Simple Favor

Summary: She’s your best friend.
She knows all your secrets.
That’s why she’s so dangerous.
A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page. Continue reading