#FuturisticFriday Review: All The Beautiful Lies by Peter Swanson

Photo Credit: William Morrow

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

All The Beautiful Lies

Summary: Harry Ackerson has always considered his step-mother Alice to be sexy and beautiful, in an “other worldly” way. She has always been kind and attentive, if a little aloof in the last few years.

Days before his college graduation, Alice calls with shocking news. His father is dead and the police think it’s suicide. Devastated, he returns to his father’s home in Maine. There, he and Alice will help one another pick up of the pieces of their lives and uncover what happened to his father.

Shortly after he arrives, Harry meets a mysterious young woman named Grace McGowan. Though she claims to be new to the area, Harry begins to suspect that Grace may not be a complete stranger to his family. But she isn’t the only attractive woman taking an interest in Harry. The sensual Alice is also growing closer, coming on to him in an enticing, clearly sexual way.

Mesmerized by these two women, Harry finds himself falling deeper under their spell. Yet the closer he gets to them, the more isolated he feels, disoriented by a growing fear that both women are hiding dangerous—even deadly—secrets . . . and that neither one is telling the truth. Continue reading

Advertisements

Lost and Found Sisters (Wildstone #1) by Jill Shalvis

Photo Credit: William Morrow

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Lost and Found Sisters

Summary: From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women’s fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.’s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she’s looking for a missing piece she can’t find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn’t quite fit in right away, she can’t help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there’s another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn’t a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she’s searched so long for. Continue reading

Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

Photo Credit: William Morrow

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Pretty Girls

Summary from Goodreads

#1 internationally bestselling author Karin Slaughter returns with a sophisticated and chilling psychological thriller of dangerous secrets, cold vengeance, and unexpected absolution, in which two estranged sisters must come together to find truth about two harrowing tragedies, twenty years apart, that devastate their lives.

Sisters. Strangers. Survivors.

More than twenty years ago, Claire and Lydia’s teenaged sister Julia vanished without a trace. The two women have not spoken since, and now their lives could not be more different. Claire is the glamorous trophy wife of an Atlanta millionaire. Lydia, a single mother, dates an ex-con and struggles to make ends meet. But neither has recovered from the horror and heartbreak of their shared loss—a devastating wound that’s cruelly ripped open when Claire’s husband is killed.

The disappearance of a teenage girl and the murder of a middle-aged man, almost a quarter-century apart: what could connect them? Forming a wary truce, the surviving sisters look to the past to find the truth, unearthing the secrets that destroyed their family all those years ago . . . and uncovering the possibility of redemption, and revenge, where they least expect it.

Powerful, poignant, and utterly gripping, packed with indelible characters and unforgettable twists, Pretty Girls is a masterful thriller from one of the finest suspense writers working today.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

I’ve been living under a rock apparently. I know of Karin Slaughter (and now have actually met her at BEA 15) but I’d not read any of her books, despite numerous recommendations to read her books. Continue reading

Announcing the new Book Talk With R & T: The Sparrow Sisters by Ellen Herrick

book talk r t

Hello! Back when I attended BEA 2015 and heard about this book, I just knew this would be a contender for Book Talk With R&T!

As the discussion began for the next Book Talk, I suggested this and Gates of Evangeline (a book I LOVED) and we debated back and forth. Forth and back. Up and down. Down and up. I was about to the point of wanting to consult a psychic about which book to choose.

And here we are. Choices were made. Interview lined up. Giveaway procured. Enjoy!

Before we get into the nitty-gritty of Book Talk With R & T- give my fabulous co-host, Rhiannon @ Ivory Owl Reviews some major loving! And then check out Ellen Herrick on Twitter and Facebook. Be sure and give her some bookish love on 9/1 as THE SPARROW SISTERS hits the shelves! Continue reading

Love and Miss Communication by Elyssa Friedland

love and miss communication

Photo Credit: William Morrow May 2015

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Love And Miss Communication

Evie Rosen. In her 30’s. Anticipating making partner at her law firm. Has great friends. Single (a fact that is driving her grandmother to worry about Evie’s future).

When Evie is called into a meeting, she assumes that it’s news related to her potential move up to partner.

It’s not.

Evie gets a wake-up call and then decides to do something drastic……. Continue reading

The Daughter by Jane Shemilt

 

the daughter

Photo Credit: William Morrow

 

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Daughter

Summary from Goodreads:

How well do you really know those you love?

Jenny loves her three teenage children and her husband, Ted, a celebrated neurosurgeon. She loves the way that, as a family, they always know each other’s problems and don’t keep secrets from each other.

But when her youngest child, fifteen-year-old Naomi, doesn’t come home after her school play and a nationwide search for her begins, secrets previously kept from Jenny are revealed.

Naomi has vanished, leaving her family broken and her mother desperately searching for answers. But the traces Naomi’s left behind reveal a very different girl to the one Jenny thought she’d raised. And the more she looks the more she learns that everyone she trusted has been keeping secrets.

How well does she really know her sons, her husband? How well did she know Naomi? If Jenny is going to find her, she’ll have to first uncover the truth about the daughter she thought told her everything.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

Have you ever read a book that you couldn’t stop thinking about for days after you read it? THE DAUGHTER was my latest book like that. Jane Shemilt took an average family and just ripped them to shreds- showed their ugly sides and brought up some interesting viewpoints. Continue reading