#FuturisticFriday review: A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell

a-simple-favor

Photo Credit: Harper

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

A Simple Favor

Summary: She’s your best friend.
She knows all your secrets.
That’s why she’s so dangerous.
A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

This book just caught my eye as I was taking a stroll through Edelweiss site. I immediately requested it and then shortly after approved, I started reading it.

I wanted to LOVE this book. It had all the elements that I dig in a book- great cover, great sounding plot, characters that may or may not be off their rockers. And, for the most part, I liked this book. It had me flipping chapters, trying to guess what the secrets were, and then as pieces were revealed- I was still nervous because I knew there had to be more. So, good job on all that.

Emily is going to draw comparisons to other much loved/hated characters of the past- and while I really did like the character of Emily- sometimes I didn’t understand Emily. Emily was a character who looks one way, then is revealed to be something else- and still has a million other layers.

Stephanie… fool me once, shame on you.. fool me twice, shame on me. That should be engraved on something important in her house.

Bottom line; This book does have a lot going for it. I enjoyed it, and found myself mulling over plot points, character description, etc days after reading. If you like a psychological thriller with unlikeable characters- go for it!

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

**This book is a March 2017 #FuturisticFriday selection from Traveling With T.**

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

traveling with t sign off picture

 

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “#FuturisticFriday review: A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell

  1. Suzy says:

    I checked this out from the library but never read it because the reviews on Goodreads weren’t very good. Maybe I’ll check it out again.

  2. I wanted to love this too! But I didn’t feel like there was much to understand about Emily; she just seemed to be evil for the sake of being evil, which I find a boring character motivation. Stephanie, on the other hand, I couldn’t understand. I just didn’t get her motivation!

    • YES!!! Sometimes Emily had a delicious evilness about her, but most of the time I agree with you! Stephanie, though, needed to take some smart pills 😉 I was wanting her to buy some major clues!

  3. melissa madrid says:

    I recently finished this book. Afterwards, I thought to myself, what did you just read?? There was so much in one book! I could have done without the brother/sister action going on but other than that-just when I thought I had it figured out, something else would happen. I love this writer! It isn’t my normal preference in books but so glad I read it!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s