Follow Me by Kathleen Barber

Photo Credit: Gallery Books

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Follow Me

Summary: From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping)—now an Apple TV series of the same name—comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’s You.

Everyone wants new followers…until they follow you home.

Audrey Miller has an enviable new job at the Smithsonian, a body by reformer Pilates, an apartment door with a broken lock, and hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers to bear witness to it all. Having just moved to Washington, DC, Audrey busies herself impressing her new boss, interacting with her online fan base, and staving off a creepy upstairs neighbor with the help of the only two people she knows in town: an ex-boyfriend she can’t stay away from and a sorority sister with a high-powered job and a mysterious past.

But Audrey’s faulty door may be the least of her security concerns. Unbeknownst to her, her move has brought her within striking distance of someone who’s obsessively followed her social media presence for years—from her first WordPress blog to her most recent Instagram Story. No longer content to simply follow her carefully curated life from a distance, he consults the dark web for advice on how to make Audrey his and his alone. In his quest to win her heart, nothing is off-limits—and nothing is private.

With “compelling, suspenseful” (Liz Nugent) prose, Kathleen Barber’s electrifying new thriller will have you scrambling to cover your webcam and digital footprints.

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

Ok, so here is the thing: A story about an Instagram influencer who has a stalker? SIGN ME UP. First, because many of us (whether we admit it or not) def want to hit influencer level on social media. Secondly, Instagram is the HOT social media now- and so (again whether we admit it or not) many of us are showing curated pieces of our life on social media.

So- Audrey is like part role model AND cautionary tale.

 

What I liked:

The cover. Creepy!

How the story is told: Audrey, Cat (a friend of hers) and Him (Audrey’s stalker). Each voice is needed in this story- and how the story is told just makes you want to read faster.

The twists and turns. YES!

 

Bottom line: I’m seeing some comparisons to YOU, but since I haven’t read that book yet- not sure how similar they are. This book will def make you think before you share that next photo or tag your location in an Instagram story.

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

Pin for Later:

 

*Have you added Follow Me to your TBR list?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

 

2 thoughts on “Follow Me by Kathleen Barber

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.