The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

Photo Credit: Gallery Books

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Night Olivia Fell

Summary: In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

Shout out to Jenn Tarheel Reader for her role in getting me this e-ARC!

So, I do not take comparisons to Reconstructing Amelia lightly- it was and still remains a fave book of mine and when I’m 99 years old, I’ll still be telling people “You gotta read Reconstructing Amelia!”

This book is as good as Reconstructing Amelia. There are some similarities and yet, they are pretty different.

Picture this: I took the afternoon off from work to get in some pool time (I’m a huge pool lover!) and I grabbed my Kindle, sunscreen and other pool accessories for an afternoon of relaxing. Then a rain cloud moved into town and rained me out. But I (almost) didn’t mind because I was so absorbed by this book!!!!!

 

What I liked:

The cover. Ya’ll know I love me some covers and this one def holds a special place- because it totally nails the atmosphere of the book. TOTALLY.

The mystery. I do love me some sizzling secrets and this book does not disappoint.

How real everything felt. I’m not a mom, but I could feel Abi’s pain, confusion and even some rage as she struggles to find out what happened to Olivia- and who is to blame.

 

Bottom line: The comparison to Reconstructing Amelia is pretty spot on- welcome to a new domestic drama for 2019 reads 🙂 Christina McDonald is another wonderful voice for lovers of domestic drama reads!

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

Pin for Later:

 

*Is The Night Olivia Fell on your TBR list?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.