The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda

Photo Credit: Graydon House

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Favorite Daughter

Summary: From the author of the page-turning domestic suspense Best Day Ever, comes another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It’s a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane’s oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of anti-depressants, she’s barely even left the house. Now that’s all about to change.

It’s time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane’s husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it’s clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days—and nights—at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl—dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they’ve revealed?

The bonds between mothers and daughters, and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together…

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

Kaira Rouda has her finger on the pulse of characters that want to make you scream & throw a book, but like a train wreck- you can’t take you eyes off them (or quit reading them).

If you enjoyed Paul from Best Day Ever, Jane will def be your cup of tea (or whiskey).

 

 

What I liked:

That cover def works for me!

Believe it or not- I liked Jane. She was good theater. Now if I had to hear one more time about her hot bod or how every man with a freaking pulse was lusting after her- I might would have screamed a bit. But Jane, as the book went on, got better- because her purpose and motives became clearer. And I loved to see how her mind worked.

 

Bottom line: This book had a lot going for it. If you like unlikeable characters with an unreliable narrator air about them- well, Jane is your gal. I’m excited to see what Kaira Rouda writes next.

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

Pin for Later:

 

*Have you added The Favorite Daughter to your TBR list?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.