#FuturisticFriday Review: The Family Next Door by Sally Hepworth

Photo Credit: St. Martin’s Press

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Family Next Door

SummaryA gripping domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It’s the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn’t fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange’s compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won’t let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park – and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread – and they’ll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

It’s safe to say that I am a very big fan of Sally Hepworth. Her books normally hit me in the gut, make me ugly cry and then leave me feeling emotionally satisfied. However, The Family Next Door is different than Sally’s previous books- more mystery/suspense (but still loaded with great characters!)

I tip my hat to Sally- because as I was reading the book over the summer- I was captivated by where she was heading with this story.

I’ve noticed other reviewers comparing to Liane Moriarty books and shows like Desperate Housewives. The comparisons are good because The Family Next Door def has those kinds of feelings- but it’s better- because you have Sally’s heartfelt writing style (there are some scenes that you just want to scream because the tension is so high- and yet her writing style almost makes you relax)

 

What I liked:

The cover! It looks like a perfect morning, on a perfect street, in a perfect neighborhood. Who knew there were so many secrets in this one area?

Essie. After the first chapter, I wondered how many secrets she was hiding!

How Isabelle’s arrival just blew up the neighborhood. She’s not like the others, but she is SO interesting.

 

Bottom Line: If the domestic suspense books that are coming out lately have been your cup of tea, settle in for The Family Next Door. It’s def one of my faves.

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T by St.Martins Press for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

**The Family Next Door is a March 2018 #FuturisticFriday selection from Traveling With T.**

 

 

*Have you added The Family Next Door to your TBR list?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#FuturisticFriday Review: The Family Next Door by Sally Hepworth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.