The Retreat by Sherri Smith

Photo Credit: Forge Books

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Retreat

Summary: Sherri Smith illuminates the dark side of the self-care and wellness industry in a thrilling ride of revenge perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Nine Perfect Strangers. The Retreat is a twisting, bone-chilling suspense that asks: how well do you really know your friends?

Four women.
Four secrets.
A weekend that will change them forever…if they survive.

Katie Manning was a beloved child star until her mid-teens when her manager attacked and permanently scarred her face, effectively ending her career and sending her on a path of all-too-familiar post-Hollywood self-destruction.

Now twenty-seven, Katie wants a better answer to those clickbait “Where Are They Now?” articles that float around online. An answer she hopes to find when her brother’s too-good-to-be-true fiance invites her to a wellness retreat upstate. Together with Katie’s two best friends–one struggling with crippling debt and family obligations, one running away from a failed job and relationship–Katie will try to find the inner peace promised at the tranquil retreat. But finding oneself just might drudge up more memories than Katie is prepared to deal with.

Each woman has come to the retreat for different reasons. Each has her secrets to hide. And at the end of this weekend, only one will be left standing.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

I really enjoyed Follow Me Down by Sherri Smith– so when Sherri emailed me about reviewing The Retreat- I did not hesitate.

I read The Retreat in just a couple of days and I REALLY had to laugh at some of the snark in this book. Plus, even though we’re not supposed to like the bad person- oh those lines are priceless!

What I Liked:

The cover. I really think it works for the overall tone of this book.

The snark. Yes, I mentioned it above, but it bears repeating again. Sometimes suspenseful books really don’t have funny/snarky moments- but when used correctly- they can really work!

The bad person. This person is playing the long game in manipulation and you’ve got to admire that.

 

Bottom line: Sherri Smith has another winner on her hands!

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

Pin for Later:

 

*Have you added The Retreat to your TBR list?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.