The Summer Sail by Wendy Francis

Photo Credit: Touchstone

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Summer Sail

Summary: “A great summer read for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin.” (Library Journal)

A trio of college friends who reunite aboard a cruise ship experience an unforgettable vacation in this compelling novel from the author of The Summer of Good Intentions, which was hailed as “everything a summer read should be” by Elin Hilderbrand.

Three college roommates are celebrating a twentieth wedding anniversary by taking a cruise to Bermuda. As the ship pulls away from the pier, everyone is looking forward to lounging by the pool, sipping sunset cocktails, and reminiscing. Abby, the mother hen of the group, will be celebrating her wedding anniversary in style, even as she and her husband keep a secret from the group. Ambitious career woman Caroline happily anticipates several stress-free days away from her magazine job with her boyfriend, Javier, who may or may not be finally inspired to propose. And single mom Lee (annoyingly gorgeous and irresistibly popular in college) hopes she’ll win back the affections of her formerly sweet daughter Lacey, who after her first year in college, has inexplicably become a little bit of a monster.

As the balmy pink shores of Bermuda come into view, tensions simmer, and old jealousies flare, sending the temperature from soothing to scorching in this engrossing tale of three best friends on a vacation they won’t soon forget—but not for the reasons they expect.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

I like stories about friends reuniting or having big hoop-la deals for milestone years. While these friends had made a point to reunite in other years- the whole decadence of a cruise to Bermuda to celebrate a twentieth wedding anniversary AND to have some gal pal time just screamed “read me!!!”

What I Liked:

The cover. I’m a sucker for a beachy read type cover and EVERYTHING about the cover just sucked me in. EVERYTHING.

How real it all felt. Sure, they are cruising to Bermuda and you know life problems and issues could wait till they returned to real life, but Wendy Francis wrote each character in such a believable way. They were having fun, re-connecting, enjoying the trip- but they were also dealing and handling with issues in ways that made sense and did not make me want to throw a mai-tai at any of the characters.

The setting (specifically the Bermuda setting). I’ve never been to Bermuda, but reading about it from Wendy Francis’s story makes me want to jump on a cruise ship and walk those pink beaches.

 

Bottom line: The book is not too light, nor too heavy in subject matter. It’s a just right mix- perfect for reading with girlfriends on your own vacation!

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

Pin for Later:

 

*Have you added The Summer Sail to your TBR list?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Summer Sail by Wendy Francis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.