#FuturisticFriday Review: Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

Photo credit: Atria Books

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Then She Was Gone

Summary: Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell—perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty.

Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her.

And then she was gone.

Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It’s been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie’s case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a café, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she’s meeting Floyd’s daughters—and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel’s breath away.

Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she’s tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

I’ve read a couple of Lisa Jewell’s books over the years- The Third Wife and The Girls in the Garden. But Then She Was Gone is probably the creepiest. When one character was mentioned, I could just feel my skin crawling, my distrust was so high.

So while I really did like this book- this book was also at times like when you are watching a scary movie and you are yelling at the main character- “Don’t go in there! It’s a trap!” In my Goodreads review, I called some of the characters CRAZY TOWN.  I still stand by that statement 🙂 I think you will too once you’ve read it!

 

What I liked:

The cover. It caught my eye immediately.

The ending. I felt like Lisa wrapped up everything- not too neatly and perfectly- just right.

The mystery. Even though it made my skin crawl at times and want to walk through the house to check to make sure the doors were locked 500 times, I was gripped. And I had to know more.

 

Bottom line: This book is not scary in the sense that there is a monster or a serial killer waiting to get you- it’s scary feeling (to me anyway) comes from knowing that there are people this unhinged (but hiding it seemingly well)  just walking around, interacting with you on a daily basis.

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

**Then She Was Gone was an April #FuturisticFriday selection from Traveling With T.**

 

Pin for Later:

 

*Have you added Then She Was Gone to your Goodreads shelf?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s