No One Knows by J.T. Ellison

no one knows

Photo Credit: Gallery Books

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

No One Knows

Summary: In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband’s Secret, New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

This was my first book by J.T. Ellison (it’s also a She Reads 2016 Spring selection). I was not familiar with J.T.’s writing style, but I loved the summary. I also ignored the references to Gone Girl (which I LOVED) and The Girl on the Train (which I was kind of ehh about)- I know many people are tired of the GIRL references (and I admit that it does set your mind to thinking about book in a certain way- but I don’t hate the references. I just take them at face value. Or TRY to 😉

Aubrey is a hot mess and I mean that in the best way possible. Her husband is being declared legally dead, Her husband’s body has never been found, she’s a prime suspect, and Aubrey is trying to piece her life together while figuring out what the heck happened 5 years ago.

What I liked:

*J.T. Ellison told the story in a convincing way. Bits of Aubrey’s past co-mingled with the events of that night. You felt sorry for Aubrey and yet you questioned Aubrey- does she know more than what she claims? I was just back and forth on Aubrey!

*The setting. Nashville. It’s a town I’ve been to a few times and while I don’t claim to know all the landmarks in No One Knows- I did know a few, so I could see the town through Aubrey’s eyes.

*The ending. I was completely satisfied. I dug it 🙂

 

What I Didn’t Love:

*Aubrey’s MIL. Listen, I’m not married and I can’t claim to know a MIL’s perspective, but while Evelyn ( that was the name, right? I’m thinking so!) was a force for a literary character- if she was real- I’d be screaming she was cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs! What I also didn’t like (or didn’t feel it was handled) was the MIL’s feelings about Aubrey. You’ll see if you read it 🙂

 

Bottom line: The last few thrillers I had read had not completely satisfied me. Maybe it was the setting (those had been in the UK) but J.T.”s style and her good ole Southern location (Nashville) added to the complete hot mess of Aubrey- well, I tore through this book and emailed Erin at Deep South Magazine multiple times.

My take: SUPER HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

traveling with t sign off picture

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s