#FuturisticFriday Review: Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake

Photo Credit: St. Martin’s Press

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Just Between Us

Summary: Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger.

Alison, Julie, Sarah, Heather. Four friends living the suburban ideal. Their jobs are steady, their kids are healthy. They’re as beautiful as their houses. But each of them has a dirty little secret, and hidden behind the veneer of their perfect lives is a crime and a mystery that will consume them all.

Everything starts to unravel when Alison spots a nasty bruise on Heather’s wrist. She shares her suspicions with Julie and Sarah, compelling all three to investigate what looks like an increasingly violent marriage. As mysterious injuries and erratic behavior mount, Heather can no longer deny the abuse, but she refuses to leave her husband. Desperate to save her, Alison and the others dread the phone call telling them that she’s been killed. But when that call finally comes, it’s not Heather who’s dead. In a moment they’ll come to regret, the women must decide what lengths they’ll go to in order to help a friend.

Just Between Us is a thrilling glimpse into the underbelly of suburbia, where not all neighbors can be trusted, and even the closest friends keep dangerous secrets. You never really know what goes on in another person’s mind, or in their marriage. Continue reading

Advertisements

Lacy Eye by Jessica Treadway

lacy eye by jessica treadway

Photo Credit: Grand Central Publishing

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Lacy Eye

Summary: A haunting, evocative novel about a woman who might have to face the disturbing truth about her own daughter.

Hanna and Joe send their awkward daughter Dawn off to college hoping that she will finally “come into her own.” When she brings her new boyfriend, Rud, to her sister’s wedding, her parents try to suppress their troubling impressions of him for Dawn’s sake. Not long after, Hanna and Joe suffer a savage attack at home, resulting in Joe’s death and Hanna’s severe injury and memory loss.

Rud is convicted of the crime, and the community speculates that Dawn may also have been involved. When Rud wins an appeal and Dawn returns to live in the family home, Hanna resolves to recall that traumatic night so she can testify in the retrial, exonerate her daughter, and keep her husband’s murderer in jail.

But as those memories resurface, Hanna faces the question of whether she knows her own daughter-and whether she ever did. Continue reading

Every Secret Thing by Laura Lippman

Every Secret Thing by Laura Lippman

Photo Credit: Goodreads

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Every Secret Thing

It’s a normal day. A day where a birthday party happens. A day where little girls have fun!

By the end of the day, though, two little girls will be on a path that will change their lives forever.

Fast forward seven years…

Alice and Ronnie have been released from prison. Both girls have been told that it’s best if they stay away from each other- just to be on the safe side. Continue reading