#FuturisticFriday Review: Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake

Photo Credit: St. Martin’s Press

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Just Between Us

Summary: Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger.

Alison, Julie, Sarah, Heather. Four friends living the suburban ideal. Their jobs are steady, their kids are healthy. They’re as beautiful as their houses. But each of them has a dirty little secret, and hidden behind the veneer of their perfect lives is a crime and a mystery that will consume them all.

Everything starts to unravel when Alison spots a nasty bruise on Heather’s wrist. She shares her suspicions with Julie and Sarah, compelling all three to investigate what looks like an increasingly violent marriage. As mysterious injuries and erratic behavior mount, Heather can no longer deny the abuse, but she refuses to leave her husband. Desperate to save her, Alison and the others dread the phone call telling them that she’s been killed. But when that call finally comes, it’s not Heather who’s dead. In a moment they’ll come to regret, the women must decide what lengths they’ll go to in order to help a friend.

Just Between Us is a thrilling glimpse into the underbelly of suburbia, where not all neighbors can be trusted, and even the closest friends keep dangerous secrets. You never really know what goes on in another person’s mind, or in their marriage.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

Oh wow….. The summary of this book really caught my attention. I mean it sounded SO good. And it is good.

Each chapter is in the voice of one of the women and it becomes obvious that there are many secrets amongst the friends.

 

What I liked:

The cover. It’s dark. It’s interesting. It makes you wonder about the book.

The characters. Each of them were fleshed out and I could understand their motivations.

The ending. It was a good payoff!

 

Bottom line: There is enough secrets and intrigue to keep the reader happy and you are never quite sure which of the friends are trustworthy…. or just really good liars.

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T by St. Martin’s Press for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

**Just Between Us is a #FuturisticFriday selection of Traveling With T’s for January.**

 

Pin for Later:

 

*Have you added Just Between Us to your Goodreads TBR shelf?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#FuturisticFriday Review: Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s