Deadly Politics by LynDee Walker

Photo Credit: Severn River Publishing

Traveling With T purchased this book for her non-review book reading time.

Deadly Politics

Summary:

When a call girl is found dead in a popular governor’s office, investigative reporter Nichelle Clarke must risk everything to uncover the dangerous truth behind the murder.

“I did not see the end coming…”

Perfect for fans of James Patterson, J.D. Robb, and Melinda Leigh.

Reporter Nichelle Clarke’s dream of covering a presidential speech is dashed when she finds herself intertwined in a high-profile murder investigation. While Nichelle is no stranger to facing dangerous situations in pursuit of the truth, the stakes in this story are higher than ever before.

Unsure of who she can trust, Nichelle must unravel a web of secrets behind an elaborate murder plot and dodge legal traps set by corrupt politicians. For if Nichelle can’t uncover the conspiracy in time, an unthinkable disaster will strike the nation.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

So back when LynDee Walker was writing her Nichelle mysteries for Henery Press, they had a cute series name (Headlines in High Heels) and Nichelle was feisty and smart and a great character, but the series had a bit more of a cozy feel.

Now, that’s writing for a different publisher- her newest book feels more gritty and dark. It’s not a bad thing- but if loved the earlier books- you might need some time to adjust.

Nichelle is still smart, funny, and a character that will stop at nothing to discover the truth- but she’s def different.

 

What I liked:

The cover. LynDee’s other covers were cute and adorable and perfect for the cozy mystery type series. Now that she’s re-branded the series- the covers need to be darker and have a bit of an edge and this one is perfect.

The direction that Nichelle is headed in career wise.

 

What I’m not sure about:

I was a total Nichelle fan back during Headlines in High Heels. And while I don’t think the re-branding, the books taking on a darker and more gritty vibe is a bad thing- my feelings are complicated about Nichelle and the changes to the series. I’m going to give the next book a try and see if I can adjust!

 

Bottom line: A bit darker than what I am used to from LynDee Walker, but not bad.

 

*Traveling With T purchased this book for her own pleasure reading time. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

Pin for Later:

 

 

*Have you added Deadly Politics to your “Want To Read” shelf?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.