#FuturisticFriday Review: Little Broken Things by Nicole Baart

Photo Credit: Atria Books

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Little Broken Things

Summary: An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn’s house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever.

Nora’s “something” is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.

While Quinn struggles to honor her sister’s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will threaten them all. But Quinn’s worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It’s a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves.


Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

Oh wow. This was my first Nicole Baart book and I have to say that I really enjoyed it- but it took me forever to read (although that was not Nicole’s fault- it was a rough ten+ days at my house taking care of Sir Thomas- and while some cats will let their humans read- mine DO NOT understand why I would even bother reading when I could be petting, holding or feeding them!)

Drawing comparisons to Big Little Lies ( a fave of mine) Little Broken Things did  have the secrets, but it was also different. Liane used humor in BLL- which provided a nice counterpoint to the secrets and seriousness of BLL. Nicole, though, just tells a story- a story with characters that will make you think, settings that feel real, and a secret that could heal the women involved in the story.

What I liked:

The cover. I like the hazy colors over the girl. You can’t get a good look at her and that really fits in the story line.

The women. Mother/daughter relationships fascinate me- I always find that they are ripe for conflict- which leads to good storytelling.


Bottom line: Nicole Baart has a winner on her hands and you should check it out- especially if you love family dynamics/secrets in your books.


*Thanks to Atria Books for providing me with a free copy of Little Broken Things. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

**Little Broken Things was a November 2017 #FuturisticFriday pick of Traveling With T’s.**


Pin For Later:


*Have you added Little Broken Things to your TBR list?*


Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T


6 thoughts on “#FuturisticFriday Review: Little Broken Things by Nicole Baart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s