Fallen Beauty by Erika Robuck (Blog tour and Giveaway!)

erika robuck fallen beauty banner

Photo credit: Penguin

Squee! Traveling With T is a stop on the FALLEN BEAUTY tour. Why am I so excited? Well, I developed a major literary love for Erika Robuck after HEMINGWAY’S GIRL. I cried for her character, Mariella. I loved her fiery spirit. And (no one throw anything at me) since I’ve never been what you would call a Hemingway fan, for Erika to make me care for him, care about these characters- well… I was hooked. So, when the opportunity knocked at my inbox about being on the FALLEN BEAUTY tour, I did not hesitate. So today, for your literary pleasure, there is a review, info about Erika and the tour, and a giveaway (sparkles, shimmers, rainbows and unicorns!) Scroll down to the bottom of the page for the link to the Rafflecopter page to enter the giveaway (but first read all the great info!) 

Fallen Beauty_Cover Image

Photo Credit: Penguin

Erika Robuck, critically acclaimed author of Hemingway’s Girl and Call Me Zelda, returns with another fascinating novel featuring a literary figure… this time, charismatic 1930s poet, Edna St. Vincent Millay. 

 

In FALLEN BEAUTY (NAL Trade Paperback; 978-0-451-41890-6; March 4, 2014; $16), Robuck presents vivid new characters while portraying a beautifully eccentric Edna St. Vincent Millay, around whom an electrifying tale unfolds, where the fast pace of the jazz age collides with life in a small, judgmental town.   

 

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and The Aviator’s Wife, FALLEN BEAUTY is a poignant page-turner comprised of fascinating pieces of history immersed in a beautifully written narrative. Robuck captures the radiance and charisma of Edna St. Vincent Millay, the fragility and power of family loyalty, and the ultimate, all-encompassing passion of love in its many forms.

Where Will Erika Robuck be visiting?

Erika Robuck will embark on a national tour in March, meeting with booksellers, bloggers, and readers across the country…

 

March 7-Launch event at BARNES & NOBLE in Annapolis, MD

March 11-  Luncheon at PAGE & PALETTE in Fairhope, AL (12PM) 

March 12  –Reading and book signing featuring friend and NYT Bestselling author, Karen White, at FOXTALE BOOK SHOPPE in Woodstock, GA (6:30PM)

March 13 –Ticketed luncheon at FICTION ADDICTION in Greenville, SC (City Range at 12PM)

March 14- Reading and book signing at MALAPROPS in Asheville, NC (7PM)

March 15 – Reading and book signing at PARK ROAD BOOKS in Charlotte, NC (2PM)

March 17 – Reading and book signing at THE COUNTRY BOOKSHOP in Southern Pines, NC (4:30PM)

March 22 –  A multi-author event featuring Nora Roberts’ Shadow Spell at TURN THE PAGE in Boonsboro, MD (12PM)

                                                               

*For more information on Erika’s tour events, please visit www.ErikaRobuck.com and participating bookstore websites. 

Erika Robuck’s Blog Tour

So all of us (yes all of us!) got the super-cool, Golden Ticket invite to be a part of the FALLEN BEAUTY tour. Good news for you? Everyone has a book to give away! So stop by these stops, read their reviews, and maybe win a book!

February 17

A Patchwork of Books

Maurice On Books

February 18

Jenn’s Bookshelves

Burton Book Review

Leah’s Thoughts

February 19

Great New Books

February 20

Chick Lit Plus

Girls Just Reading

February 21

Book Dilettante

Chefdruck: French

Bookfoolery

February 22  *Millay’s Birthday* 

BookNAround

Entertainment Realm

Two Classy Chics

February 24

Laura’s Review Bookshelf

Crystal Book Reviews

February 25

Literally Jen

Confessions of a Book Addict

February 26 

LitChat

February 27

Anita Loves Books

To Read or Not To Read

Kayla’s Reads and Reviews

February 28

Silver’s Reviews

A Novel Review

The Write Teacher(s)

March 3

Alison’s Book Marks

March 4 *Book Birthday*

Biblio File

Sincerely Stacie

Minding Spot

Bookalicious Mama

March 5

Teresa’s Reading Corner

Book Addict Katie

So Many Precious Books, So Little Time

March 6

Entomology of a Bookworm

Steph The Bookworm

Kritters Ramblings

March 7

My 5 Monkeys

Traveling With T

FALLEN BEAUTY

Fallen Beauty_Cover Image

Photo Credit: Penguin

 

Erika Robuck takes the readers into the world of Edna St. Vincent Millay with a story about 2 different “fallen women”.

One night, Laura makes a choice that will change her life forever- although she just thinks that it will be a fun night. When her and her beau sneak away from town to see the Ziegfeld Follies. After having a wonderful time at the show, filled with a high that Laura cannot quite put in words, Laura and her beau extend their night by giving in to passion. Laura, upon coming home, finds out that her father is up and is quite disappointed in her- he expects better from her. Sadly this night, this night that was so filled with promise for Laura- turns into a night of pain and hurt. When Laura realizes she’s pregnant, she hopes that this news will unite her and her lover. When it doesn’t, Laura must decide what to do about their child- to handle the shame of having a child out of wedlock or to give her child away?

Edna St. Vincent Millay (or Vincent) as she is referred to in the book is charming. Wild. Unpredictable. Her parties, her lifestyle is over-the-top. Vincent and her friends are lovers, enemies, and so entwined in each other’s life-romantic and otherwise, that it’s almost hard to say where one ends and one begins. It is with this lifestyle, though, that Vincent gets her creativity, her spark- this lifestyle is her muse and she must live life in this hedonistic fashion to feel fully alive and creative, to have her needs met. One day, on a trip to town, she sees the young lady, Laura. Instantly drawn to her, she feels a connection.

Vincent wants Laura to be a part of her life, to make her beautiful outfits. Laura wishes no part of it, for many reasons. Slowly, though, Laura begins to let herself be a part of Vincent’s life- not for Vincent, but for Laura’s daughter.

As the reader gets further in the life of Vincent and Laura, sees them as friends, rivals, and appearing to be polar opposites (although Erika Robuck does an excellent job of showing the similarities these women have)- the reader is left to ponder many things. To ponder the roles of these two women- one who freely lives her life, who takes pleasure in bucking societal norms; and the other- the one who may not take pleasure in bucking societal norms- but who is determined to give her daughter a life.

By the end of the story, the reader is immersed in the lives of these two women, the ways they are alike, different and the power and beauty they have.

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

Confession: I was really not aware of who Edna St. Vincent Millay was before FALLEN BEAUTY. When Erika posted her announcement about this book, I knew that Erika was going to educate me on Edna through the book FALLEN BEAUTY. I was not wrong- Erika does research, she uses words to paint a picture and as the last page turns- I was sad to say good-bye to these characters.

Vincent… Vincent- part of me liked her, but at times she was almost unlikable. Her carelessness with love, with people’s feelings sometimes shocked me. But, when I look back at her overall as a character, she’s really remarkable. And that’s the beauty of Vincent- at times, appalling and yet remarkable.

Laura- I related more to Laura, found her to be the character that I enjoyed spending more time with. Laura, at times, looked to be simple- she had lived a quiet life, had a night of fun and passion, and then her life changed. But, but- she was really so much more complex. Erika Robuck did a beautiful job creating Laura.

All in all- I highly recommend FALLEN BEAUTY. For fans of historical fiction, for just fans of reading a good book! FALLEN BEAUTY is a gem (with a gorgeous cover!)

About the Author:

Erika Robuck_Photo Credit Catsh Photography LLC (2)

Photo Credit: Catsh Photography LLC

 

Erika Robuck has appeared on the Southern Independent Bestseller List for Call Me Zelda and is the critically acclaimed author of Hemingway’s Girl. Born and raised in Annapolis, Maryland, Erika was inspired by the cobblestones and old churches. She is a contributor to the popular fiction blog, Writer Unboxed, and maintains her own historical fiction blog called Muse. For more information please visit www.erikarobuck.com, and Twitter @ErikaRobuck.

Giveaway:

Win FALLEN BEAUTY! Giveaway is open to US entrants only! Visit the Rafflecopter link below for your chance to win!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

T Traveling With T pic sign off

12 thoughts on “Fallen Beauty by Erika Robuck (Blog tour and Giveaway!)

    • YES YES YES! I 100% agree about the goddess stuff. I wonder if Vincent was around during these times if we would think of her as a creative genius or if she would be diagnosed with a psych condition (possibly bipolar?)
      Even though there were times I didn’t like the character- overall, she made for a remarkable character- a character that you will remember long after the last page is turned.

      • Aww thanks! At one point, she does seem to be more “depressed”. But, it’s the letters to lover, the highs and lows and the darn near manic state she gets in at times that lead me to more of bipolar thought.

        She was just something else- and creative, yes; but I was darn near exhausted reading some of her sections!

    • Erika’s books was my first real time to read a historical fiction- and I just adore her books. Hemingway’s Girl really is fab! I think I liked HG a bit better than Fallen Beauty, but Mariella in HB is a hard character to top. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s