#FuturisticFriday Review: The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel

Photo Credit: Crown Publishing

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

The Roanoke Girls

Summary: A gripping, provocative thriller about the twisted secrets families keep, perfect for fans of The Girls.

Beautiful.
Rich.
Mysterious.
Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl.

But you won’t when you know the truth.

Lane Roanoke is fifteen when she comes to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin at the Roanoke family’s rural estate following the suicide of her mother. Over one long, hot summer, Lane experiences the benefits of being one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls.

But what she doesn’t know is being a Roanoke girl carries a terrible legacy: either the girls run, or they die. For there is darkness at the heart of Roanoke, and when Lane discovers its insidious pull, she must make her choice…

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

So this was a #FuturisticFriday pick of mine back in 2017. I remember being intrigued by the premise and the cover.

Then… Twitter ruined it for me before I could read it.

I honestly forget which of my blog friends posted about THE SECRET but I decided to hold off reading it. Then a few days ago, I was looking through my Kindle and was like… “Hmm, why have I not read you yet?”

It took me about 5 pages to remember THE SECRET, but I was intrigued (not by THE SECRET) but how it was going to be handled and what the heck happened to Allegra.

So…. THE SECRET. Unless it’s Lane talking about it- it’s not over the top being revealed or extremely descriptive. Yes, it’s a main focus of the book and it does give me an icky feeling- but the pieces of what happened to Roanoke girls kept me flipping pages. And I needed to see if my suspicions were correct  about some things.

What I liked:

The cover.

How the story was set up between current, past and the chapters from each Roanoke girl.

 

Bottom line: This book is dark and disturbing and may cause you to throw it up against a wall. I still liked it, but be prepared to go to DARK places when reading it.

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

**The Roanoke Girls was a March 2017 #FuturisticFriday selection from Traveling With T.**

 

Pin for Later:

*Have you added The Roanoke Girls to your TBR list?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

 

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “#FuturisticFriday Review: The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel

  1. Sarah's Book Shelves says:

    I knew the secret going into it too…too many comps to a certain author I read in my childhood…but still couldn’t put it down. It was more of the how than the what for me.

  2. dedezoomsalot says:

    I really liked this story! Yes, the secret was icky, but the overall drama was amazing. I hadn’t read anything by this author before, but would definitely pick up another book by her!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s