Literary Friday ya’ll…..

Well… Sunday is Super Bowl Sunday. Honestly, I am NOT a football person. I usually have it on for the commercials… But this year, I’ll be birthday party-ing it up with Little A so prob will not see any of the game or commercials.

What will you be doing this weekend? Watching the big game? Continue reading

Advertisements

7 Mysteries We Love

Last summer, Erin from Deep South Magazine, was chatting with me about writing a post for Traveling With T about some mysteries she had been loving. I told her to go ahead, write it up and I would post it because 1. I LOVE mysteries as much as she does and 2. I knew the readers of Traveling With T would appreciate a good list.

And appreciate it ya’ll did- Ten Mysteries To Keep You On Your Toes Through Summer was pinned over 1k times on Pinterest and got quite a few comments!

So, when we were emailing a few weeks ago- a new mystery list talk came up and she suggested a mystery list for Valentine’s Day gifts (because not everyone wants roses, chocolate, and teddy bears!) Thus, the longest email, Imessage, & phone calls chain began between us as we were talking- about books we had read, books that had caught our eye and so forth.

I now present you with this list- a collaborative effort of 2 women who love a good mystery and then love to tell the other one “You MUST read this!” Continue reading

#FuturisticFriday Review: Two Girls Down by Louisa Luna

Photo Credit: Doubleday

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Two Girls Down

Summary: As addictive, cinematic, and binge-worthy a narrative as The Wire and The Killing, Two Girls Down introduces Louisa Luna as a thriller writer of immense talent and verve.

When two young sisters disappear from a strip mall parking lot in a small Pennsylvania town, their devastated mother hires an enigmatic bounty hunter, Alice Vega, to help find the girls. Immediately shut out by a local police department already stretched thin by budget cuts and the growing OxyContin and meth epidemic, Vega enlists the help of a disgraced former cop, Max Caplan. Cap is a man trying to put the scandal of his past behind him and move on, but Vega needs his help to find the girls, and she will not be denied.

With little to go on, Vega and Cap will go to extraordinary lengths to untangle a dangerous web of lies, false leads, and complex relationships to find the girls before time runs out, and they are gone forever. Continue reading

Best Friends Forever by Margot Hunt

Photo credit: Mira Books

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Best Friends Forever

Summary: How well do you really know your best friend?

Kat Grant and Alice Campbell have a friendship forged in shared confidences and long lunches lubricated by expensive wine. Though they’re very different women—the artsy socialite and the struggling suburbanite—they’re each other’s rocks. But even rocks crumble under pressure. Like when Kat’s financier husband, Howard, plunges to his death from the second-floor balcony of their South Florida mansion.

Howard was a jerk, a drunk, a bully and, police say, a murder victim. The questions begin piling up. Like why Kat has suddenly gone dark: no calls, no texts and no chance her wealthy family will let Alice see her. Why investigators are looking so hard in Alice’s direction. Who stands to get hurt next. And who is the cool liar—the masterful manipulator behind it all. Continue reading

#FuturisticFriday Review: Little Broken Things by Nicole Baart

Photo Credit: Atria Books

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Little Broken Things

Summary: An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn’s house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever.

Nora’s “something” is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.

While Quinn struggles to honor her sister’s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will threaten them all. But Quinn’s worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It’s a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves. Continue reading

#FuturisticFriday Review: Sisters Like Us by Susan Mallery

Photo Credit: Mira Books

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Sisters Like Us

Summary: The grass is always greener on your sister’s side of the fence…

Divorce left Harper Szymanski with a name no one can spell, a house she can’t afford and a teenage daughter who’s pulling away. With her fledgeling virtual-assistant business, she’s scrambling to maintain her overbearing mother’s ridiculous Susie Homemaker standards and still pay the bills, thanks to clients like Lucas, the annoying playboy cop who claims he hangs around for Harper’s fresh-baked cookies.

Spending half her life in school hasn’t prepared Dr. Stacey Bloom for her most daunting challenge—motherhood. She didn’t inherit the nurturing gene like Harper and is in deep denial that a baby is coming. Worse, her mother will be horrified to learn that Stacey’s husband plans to be a stay-at-home dad…assuming Stacey can first find the courage to tell Mom she’s already six months pregnant.

Separately they may be a mess, but together Harper and Stacey can survive anything—their indomitable mother, overwhelming maternity stores and ex’s weddings. Sisters Like Us is a delightful look at sisters, mothers and daughters in today’s fast-paced world, told with Susan Mallery’s trademark warmth and humor. Continue reading