Last Summer at The Golden Hotel by Elyssa Friedland

Photo Credit: Berkley

This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration.

Last Summer at the Golden Hotel

Summary: A family reunion for the ages when two clans convene for the summer at their beloved getaway in the Catskills–perfect for fans of Dirty Dancing and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel–from the acclaimed author of The Floating Feldmans.

In its heyday, The Golden Hotel was the crown jewel of the hotter-than-hot Catskills vacation scene. For more than sixty years, the Goldman and Weingold families – best friends and business partners – have presided over this glamorous resort which served as a second home for well-heeled guests and celebrities. But the Catskills are not what they used to be – and neither is the relationship between the Goldmans and the Weingolds. As the facilities and management begin to fall apart, a tempting offer to sell forces the two families together again to make a heart-wrenching decision. Can they save their beloved Golden or is it too late?

Long-buried secrets emerge, new dramas and financial scandal erupt, and everyone from the traditional grandparents to the millennial grandchildren wants a say in the hotel’s future. Business and pleasure clash in this fast-paced, hilarious, nostalgia-filled story, where the hotel owners rediscover the magic of a bygone era of nonstop fun even as they grapple with what may be their last resort.

 

Traveling With T’s Thoughts:

Whenever I see Dirty Dancing on TV, even though I have several sections of dialogue practically memorized word for word, I have to stop and watch it. It’s the law!

So seeing the Dirty Dancing reference at the beginning of this book- well, it just made me know I was going to have “the time of my life” 😉

 

What I Liked:

I loved this cover.. SO fun!

I liked all the family dysfunction and secrets these people were keeping from each other. Family is complicated and when you have 2 families- well things get even more complicated (sometimes in the most humorous ways!)

The ending. It really fit the book and worked for me.

 

A Little quibble about the book: 

It took me forever to get these families in my minds and to keep who belonged to who straight. My advice if you, like me, sometimes struggle with keeping semi-large casts straight- write them down somewhere to be able to refer to them!

 

Bottom line: For me, this was a cute summer read and I enjoyed it!

 

*This book was sent to Traveling With T for review consideration. All thoughts and opinions are mine alone.*

 

Pin for Later:

 

*Have you added Last Summer at the Golden Hotel to your read Want to Read list?*

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With T

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.